HISTORY and ACHIEVEMENTS of the GREATEST football club in GHANA.

Written by on August 31, 2021

The foundation of Kumasi Asante Kotoko Sporting Club was laid by 13 young Ashanti men led by a young driver, Mr. Kwasi Kumah, ably supported by L.Y. Asamoah an electrician. Mr. Kwasi Kumah, a native of Nyankyerenease near Kumasi in the Ashanti Region.

Was a chauffeur to an English man and military officer, a Colonel Ross. Kwasi Kumah nurtured the idea of forming a football team when he watched an exciting football match. When Colonel Ross returned home for good, Kumah bought a set of jerseys to start his football team. With co-operation from his good friend, L.Y.Asamoah, he formed the Ashanti United Football Club in 1926.

Five years later the team was renamed Kumasi Titanics.The team was really handicapped because most of the players worked in government organizations like the Prisons and Railways and had been transferred from Kumasi. “Kumasi Titanics” did not find enough luck in their new name and in 1934 they adopted a more powerful name, Mighty Atoms. Still the club did not see much progress and in 1935, Mr J.S.K. Frimpong, popularly called Teacher Frimpong, then a teacher of the Kumasi Government School who had all the time shown interest in the club, organized some men from his school and proposed a change of name from “Kumasi Titanics” to Kumasi Asante Kotoko Football Club. Permission had to be obtained from the Asantehene (King of the Kingdom of Ashanti) because the name “Kotoko”, meaning “Porcupine” is the official symbol of the Ashanti nation.

The Asantehene, Nana Sir Osei Agyeman Prempeh II, became the first life patron of the club. Kumasi Asante Kotoko Football Club was subsequently formally founded in 1935.Asante Kotoko’s emblem features the “Porcupine”, displaying an inbuilt arsenal of sharp spikes for use when attacked by an enemy.

National Titles Ghana Premier League: 241959, 1963–64, 1964–65, 1967, 1968, 1969, 1972, 1975, 1980, 1981, 1982, 1983, 1986, 1987, 1988–89, 1990–91, 1991–92, 1992–93, 2003, 2005, 2007–08, 2011–12, 2012–13, 2013–14 (record)GFA Normalization Committee Special Competition: 12019FA Cup: 91958, 1959, 1960, 1978, 1984, 1997–98, 2001, 2014, 2017Ghana Super Cup: 32012, 2013, 2014 (record)

Other GFA National Titles Ghana SWAG Cup: 16[24][25][26][27][28]1981, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1998 (shared), 2001, 2003, 2005, 2008Ghana Telecom Gala: 31999–2000, 2001, 2005 (record)Ghana Top Four Cup: 32003, 2007 (record)Ghana Annual Republic Day Cup (President’s Cup): 82004, 2005, 2008 (record)

GHALCA Special Cup : 3Ghana Top Eight Cup: 3Ghana Top Six Cup: 2Independence Cup : 3June 4th Cup: 131st December Revolution Cup: 2International TitlesAfrican Cup of Champions Clubs/CAF Champions League: 2Champions: 1970, 1983

Current track



This is Ad two
This is Ad one