19 Years Of TESCON; Consolidating The Gains Of Great Commitment And Selfless Activism!

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +
Image result for TESCON

19 years ago, at the Independence Hall of the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, celebrated statesman and Ghana’s Ex- President, H.E John Agyekum Kufuor inaugurated the Tetiary Students Confederacy of the New Patriotic Party (TESCON), a vibrant youth group which would later be incorporated into the NPP’s mainstream organizational structure.

Today, we salute the many young men and women whose efforts under the leadership of its founding President, Francis Asenso- Boakye culminated in the establishment of TESCON, the most vibrant student political movement in our Country today.

The Youth of our party will forever be indebted to them for their farsightedness and resilience on this path.

Among the reasons that motivated the establishment of Tescon was the need to make good use of the Party’s tertiary education base in finding a lasting solution to the challenge of electoral fraud which the NPP had suffered in the 1992 and 1996 General elections and also position itself as the intellectual wing of NPP.

True to this, TESCON played a pivotal role in the 2000 General elections which saw the NPP wrestle power from the NDC. TESCON has since then become a critical component of the NPP’s organizational structure playing key roles in successive elections.

19 years after its inauguration, TESCON has transformed into a generational pillar. TESCON is today a hub for budding talents of the Danquah, Dombo, Busia tradition; a platform that has nurtured a vast majority of the young leaders we have in the NPP today.

It has out-worked the fierce competition it faced at its inauguration and carved a niche as the ‘intellectual wing’ of the New Patriotic Party. We owe this to the huge sacrifices made by TESCON leaders and activists all these years.

The many young people who have given real meaning to our popular slogan ‘Commitment without Inducement’. You kept the faith and your unalloyed commitment has brought us this far. We are grateful!

We are equally grateful to the many stalwarts and figures in our party who have provided immense support and guided the TESCON journey this far. We are grateful to H.E Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo Addo, President of the Republic, the Vice President H.E Alhaji Dr Mahamadu Bawumia and the leadership of our party for the unflinching support they have provided TESCON all these years.

We take the opportunity of our 19th anniversary to reiterate TESCON’s unwavering support and commitment to President Akufo Addo’s developmental agenda. We remain committed to supporting the many bold programs and policies he has rolled out in developing our Country.

We pay glowing tribute to past Youth Leaders of the New Patriotic Party. The likes of Hon Andy Appiah Kubi, Hon Mustapha Hamid, Mr John Boadu, Hon Anthony Karbo, Mr Attafuah Danso and Sammi Awuku. They have been worthy sheperds who have guided the development of TESCON to this point.

Today, we recount great successes of the TESCON story. Our founding President, Francis Assenso Boakye, has risen through the ranks and is Ghana’s Deputy Chief of Staff, one of the youngest people to occupy that sensitive office.

Many other activists, former leaders and members of TESCON occupy sensitive positions in our Party and Government today. The likes of Samuel Awuku, Anthony Karbo, Justin Koduah Frimpong, Attafuah Danso, Dr Gideon Boako, Hon Kwaku Kwarteng, Hon Martin Adjei Mensah Korsah, and many other young pillars of our party are shinning examples of the TESCON success story.

I am also humbled to be leading our Party’s Youth today, having served as TESCON President in two different Tertiary institutions. I say in all confidence, that my service to TESCON has contributed in shaping my Political journey this far.

I am confident that with God’s guidance, we will continue to leverage on the platform TESCON gives the young people of our party.

Source: 24hrsmediaonline.com


About Author

Kdro, sound engineer/blog designer@www.w2klradio.com

Comments are closed.